Book, Historical Fiction, Reading, Review, Uncategorized

Eleventh Hour (Kit Marlowe #8)

35116633

Eleventh Hour (Kit Marlowe #8)

By M.J. Trow

Edition: ebook, 2017 ARC

Synopsis: Christopher Marlowe must discover who murdered the queen’s spymaster in this absorbing historical mystery.

April, 1590. The queen’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham, is dead, leaving a dangerous power vacuum. His former right hand man, Nicholas Faunt, believes he was poisoned and has ordered Kit Marlowe to discover who killed him.

To find the answers, Marlowe must consult the leading scientists and thinkers in the country. But as he questions the members of the so-called School of Night, the playwright-turned-spy becomes convinced that at least one of them is hiding a deadly secret. If he is to outwit the most enquiring minds in Europe and unmask the killer within, Marlowe must devise an impossibly ingenious plan.

Playwright Kit Marlowe is plunged into the hunt for the truth when Sir Francis Wallingham dies. Are natural causes to blame or something more sinister?
From the description, I didn’t realize I was jumping into a series. Immediately, I realized my mistake as certain characters are referred to in ways that made it obvious the reader ought to be aware of who they are. This made it difficult for me to really get into the story, which is heavy going.

Kit Marlowe was a fascinating character and I did enjoy following him through his investigation. He was charismatic, and the author side of me appreciated his title ‘the Muses’ Darling.’ He amused me very much. The others were…unremarkable. As to the plot, I was often confused, so I didn’t particularly enjoy it.

I also did not like the supernatural element of the book. Perhaps this is usual to the series and fans know what they are getting. So, to those who know Kit Marlowe will probably enjoy his newest adventure.

I received a free copy from NetGalley for review purposes.

Leave a Reply

