Book, Historical Fiction, Reading, Uncategorized

Favorite Books

As you’ve probably guessed, I like to read. In fact, I take every free moment I can to read…which does make it hard to put writing as a priority.

Anyway, though there are many books I love and like, it takes a pretty special book to make it onto my favorite list and STAY there. Last month, I made a list of my top five favorite books for a fellow author’s site.

Without any further ado, I give you my

Top Five Favorite Books

persuasion

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Anne Elliot may not have the charm of Elizabeth Bennet, but she is the most loyal of all Jane Austen’s works and thus my favorite. I love how in her story, she’s matured but still loves the man she turned away. Also, this quote:  “All the privilege I claim for my own sex (it is not a very enviable one: you need not covet it), is that of loving longest, when existence or when hope is gone!”

foundling

The Foundling by Georgette Heyer

What I love about this book is Gilly, the seventh Duke of Sale. He is a mild mannered young man, who longs to know what life would be like if there weren’t well meaning family members and servants who won’t let him lift a finger for himself. He is such a lovable character who really grows up in the story.

enola-holmes-2

The Case of the Left-Handed Lady (Enola Holmes #2) by Nancy Springer

This is the second book in a middle-grade series about Sherlock Holmes much younger sister. What I love about this book especially is Enola Holmes interactions, not only in disguise with her detective brother, but with a young lady who comes to be her best friend. With codes to solve and danger on every corner, this book out of the series is the one I pick up first.

51ngpvjsnwl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The Clue of the Broken Locket (Nancy Drew #11) by Carolyn Keene

This one is on my list because this was my first introduction to Nancy Drew when I was seven years old. Nancy has two mysteries to solve. What I fell in love with was how the mysteries entwined through the story and how much spunk this detective has.

51a2b44qw87l

Murder on Black Swan Lane by Andrea Penrose

So this is a book that has yet to be released but I was privileged to receive an ARC. The hero of this particular book is an earl with an interest in science and when he comes under suspicion for murder he quite logically sets out to prove his innocence. The plot of this book is unusual for the Regency era and is written brilliantly.

So, there you have it, my top five books. At least for the moment. Here’s to finding more great books to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

